Skip to content

Update now

Update now runs a synchronization job on demand, instead of waiting for the next scheduled synchronization. You can use it on packages in Configuration Management, on servers in System Administration, and on objects in OS Deployment.

  1. Right-click the package, server, or OS Deployment object, and then select Update now.

  2. Choose the reach or the priority of the synchronization, as described below.

  3. Optionally, enter a Change description. It’s saved in the change log.

  4. Click Next. The synchronization jobs are processed and created in the database.

    The Update Now wizard while it processes the synchronization jobs

  5. When the wizard shows Completed, click Close.

    The completed Update Now wizard showing how many synchronization jobs were created

The synchronization jobs are created, and the files are transferred to the servers.

When you run Update now on packages or on a server, you choose which servers the synchronization reaches:

Option Description
Sync only to Management Servers The selected packages are updated on all Management Servers on the Management Point. These are the servers with a Front-end service.
Sync to Management Servers and Distribution Servers The synchronization also includes the Distribution Servers. This is the default when the Management Point has Distribution Servers. The option is unavailable when there are no Distribution Servers on the Management Point.

If none of the selected packages needs to be synchronized, for example because they aren’t linked to any server, you get a message, and no synchronization jobs are created.

For some Distribution Servers, Update now instead asks you to confirm that you want to start preloading packages on the Distribution Server now.

When you run Update now in OS Deployment, you choose the priority the job uses to transfer its files:

The Update Now wizard with the Low, Normal, High, and Foreground priority options

Option Description
Low Transfers the job in the background with a low priority. Background transfers use the idle network bandwidth of the client to transfer files. This is the lowest background priority level.
Normal Transfers the job in the background with a normal priority. Background transfers use the idle network bandwidth of the client to transfer files. This is the default priority level.
High Transfers the job in the background with a high priority. Background transfers use the idle network bandwidth of the client to transfer files. This is the highest background priority level.
Foreground Transfers the job in the foreground. Foreground transfers compete for network bandwidth with other applications, which can impede the user’s network experience. This is the highest priority level.