Skip to content

Set Up Locations

This page describes how you use location administration to set up locations and user defined groups, and to decide which groups belong to which location.

Computers are grouped together as described in Grouping of Computers. To manage locations, select ADMINISTRATION > Computer Grouping > Locations. The following icons represent the different types of items in the list:

  • Location icon : Locations
  • User defined group icon : User Defined Groups
  • Subnet group icon : Subnet Groups
  • Citrix group icon : Citrix Groups
  • AutoSteps group icon : AutoSteps Groups

Each item shows how many computers it contains. By default, subnets without computers are hidden. Select Show empty subnets to show them. Use the search field to find a location or group by name.

You can create a location or a user defined group from the create button at the top of the list, or you can create a location or a user defined group inside an existing location as described in the following.

  1. Select ADMINISTRATION > Computer Grouping > Locations and then click the create button The blue create button at the top of the list. To create the location inside an existing location, open the menu Menu icon of that location instead.

  2. Select Create location.

  3. Specify the following:

    • Name: The name of the location.
    • Description: A supplementary description of the location.
  4. Click Create The Create button.

The location Location icon is added. To add computers to the location, create a user defined group in it (see the following), or move existing groups into it (see Drag and drop in the following).

  1. Click the create button The blue create button at the top of the list, or open the menu Menu icon of a location, and select Create user defined group.
  2. Specify the following:
    • Name: The name of the user defined group.
    • Description: A supplementary description of the user defined group.
  3. Click Create The Create button. You then need to add members The green add button to the group.
  4. Select the computers and click the Add button. The button shows how many computers you’ve selected, for example Add 2 to members.
  5. Click Close.

The user defined group is created. If you created it from the menu of a location, it’s linked to that location.

There are some filters available when you add members to a user defined group, so that you can eliminate unnecessary data from your search. To remove a filter, click x on the filter.

The member filters: Search, IP Address, Operating Systems, Memory, Citrix Only and AutoSteps Only

  • Search: Enter a name or characters. Only computers that match are shown.
  • IP Address: Only computers with the specified IP address are shown.
  • Operating Systems: Only computers with the selected operating system are shown.
  • Memory 0 - 128 GB: Only computers with the selected amount of memory are shown.
  • AutoSteps Only: Only computers with AutoSteps are shown. This option is only available if there are computers with AutoSteps.
  • Citrix Only: Only computers with Citrix are shown. This option is only available if there are computers with Citrix.

To edit a location or a user defined group:

  1. Click the menu Menu icon next to the location or user defined group, and select Edit.
  2. For a user defined group, you can add The green add button more members to the group, or select members and click the Remove button (for example Remove 1 member).
  3. Click Save or Close.

To delete a location or a user defined group, click the menu Menu icon next to it, and select Delete.

To remove the members first:

  1. Click the menu Menu icon next to the user defined group, and select Edit.
  2. Select the members, and click the Remove button.
  3. Select Delete in the menu again. The user defined group is deleted.

You can change the membership of a group or location by dragging and dropping it on the location it should be a member of.

You can also select the group, open the menu Menu icon next to the location that it should be moved to, and select Move selected items to ….

You can also select multiple locations or groups within the same parent: hold down Ctrl or Shift while you click the locations or groups, and then drag and drop them onto the required location.

Unmapped is a predefined location for groups that you haven’t placed in a location yourself. Any new subnets or groups end up here to start with. You can also move a subnet or group to Unmapped yourself if you don’t want it in a named location: drag it to unmap, which appears at the top of the list while you drag.